What do school Governors do?

The school Governors’ main role is to support the Senior Leadership Team, the staff and the parents and pupils of Riverside – the phrase often used to describe this role is a ‘critical friend’.

We help to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole range of school life. The key documents we have are the School Improvement Plan, the Self Evaluation Form and the Headteacher’s Report. They set out the plans for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and tells us how well the school is doing.

Our legal duties include:-

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school’s budget and objectives
  • appointing and supporting the Headteacher and the Senior Leadership Team

The Governing Body meets once every term. We have set up sub-committees to look in detail about the issues that affect our school (Personnel & Curriculum; Finance & Premises). All governors are informed about what happens at these sub-committee meetings.

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. There are Co-opted governors, Local Authority governors, Parent governors, and a Staff governor. All governors have equal status.

If you would like to speak to a governor, please do. They are often around at the start and end of the day. If you wish to be introduced to a governor or request a meeting with a governor, please ask Jose or Helen.

The governing body of Riverside School are committed to providing an outstanding environment for your child to learn.

Riverside’s Governing Body

Governor Role
Mr Peter John OBE  Chair/Local Authority Governor**
Mrs Carol Castle  Vice Chair/Co-opted Governor**
Mr Dipesh Panchal  Clerk
Ms Karine Bihr Filby  Parent Governor**
Mr Teague Stubbington    Parent Governor**
Ms Mardi McBrien  Parent Governor**
Ms Georgia Byrne Co-opted Governor**
Mr Lance Murray  Co-opted Governor**
Ms Amanda Kiddell  Co-opted Governor**
Ms Sacha Meek  Staff Governor**
Ms J Lewis/S Alder  Co-Headteacher**

The Chair of Governors, Peter John OBE, can be contacted via the school.

** indicates this governor has voting rights

Associate Governors

The following personnel are Associate Governors who are available to advise the Governing Body:

Ms H Baldry Ms Gillian Stuart Ms J Lewis  
Ms K Ezerskaya Mr J Herbert Ms M Hulatt  

Additional information

You can access published information about Riverside governors (and other details about the school) by following this link:
Further information can be found here:

Constitution-Riverside Primary


ATTENDANCE Meetings-Riverside Primary


When a vacancy arises for a parent governor a letter will be sent out for you to nominate and vote for your choice of governor. So if you want to be more involved in school life, why not nominate yourself next time?